Don’t Let Anyone Think You Published Your First-Draft

This is one of the biggest problems in the self-publishing industry, and Francis hits the nail so square on the head you might as well call her Mighty Thor!

disappearinginplainsight

IMG_5951 (2)

I was zooming along with my first round of hardcopy edits on The Light Never Lies, feeling OK – when wham – the boom was lowered. I ran up against a couple of chapters that were so poorly written, they are headed right back to the drawing board. I found inappropriate conversation, passive voice, description details that dragged the story down like a loaf of bread that fell flat.

How did this hackneyed piece of prose get woven into my book? Here’s the thing I’ve discovered. A writer has to expect to see crap in the first draft of any piece of work.

The first draft is entirely in the service of getting the story down. Sometimes that’s done with finesse and sometimes not. That’s why we rewrite, and rewrite, and rewrite.

I’m a self-published author. I have joined a growing rank of people who have decided they will…

View original post 735 more words

3 responses to “Don’t Let Anyone Think You Published Your First-Draft

  1. Hey – thanks so much for the repost and the Thor comment. With that pic at the top of your blog, I’m thinking you know a thing or two about kick-butt creatures.

    • It is a bit of a hobby of mine. I really liked your post. I think rushing shoddy work out is what’s killing a lot of self-published authors. If we could be patient until we make sure our work is really top notch, the industry would just explode.

  2. Very good point, this blog link. I like this iteration of your blog.

Leave a Reply

