Soap: A Poem

A splash of red, bright, crimson

The warmth of life spilled on my vest

Her name was Freggr

Even foul nomenclature makes a pretty dye

For the moment

 

Brown, gray, more brown

My tunic has lost all Freggr’s shine

Another voyage, another village

More color for my boots,

and I feel pretty again

For the moment

 

Screams, alarms, the watch is calling

The longhouse shakes, and I heft my blade

The Danes are so drab in the night

Cold pain in my throat

Blood stains my vest, and I am another man’s dye

For the moment

2 responses to “Soap: A Poem

  1. Enjoyed this poem. Drear subject but your verse is not. Good job!

Leave a Reply

